Kusadasi is a picturesque town with a rich history, where many interesting excursions and entertainment programs are waiting for its guests. The most striking historical monument of the town is the Kaleici Camii or Fortress Mosque, built in 1618 by order of Grand Vizier Okuz Mehmed Pasha. The total area is about 1800 square meters, more than 500 people can accommodate in its hall. The main decoration of the complex is the large dome of lead, which is supported by 12 columns. The mosque resembles a luxurious palace, its massive front door is made of wood and inlaid with mother of pearl, and the interior is decorated with artful painting.
The castle on Guvercin Island is a striking monument of the Byzantine era, sometimes it is referred to as ‘pirates’ fortress.’ It owes its name to the legend telling that the fortress served as a refuge for Khair ad-Din pirate, who is better known as Barbarossa. Recently, a powerful fortification was completely renovated; some of its rooms host a historic museum.
This article about Kusadasi is written by the orangesmile.com editorial team and is protected by the copyright law. The article can only be re-used with a direct link to www.orangesmile.com