The Museum of Chocolate.
The Museum of Chocolate is located in a big house on the peninsula. The official name of the museum is Imhoff-Schokoladen-Museum. This is the place where visitors can learn about the whole 3000 year long history of chocolate. The museum was opened in 1993, and at that time it was the 1st museum of chocolate. In the end of every excursion visitors are welcome to try the main exhibit of the museum simply by dipping a waffle into a chocolate fountain. Tourists should remember one thing - the museum is closed on Mondays.
The City Hall.
The first documental record about the City Hall belongs to the period of 1135-1152. At that time is was called The Citizen House. When the city got the status of a free city-country, it was decided to add a tower to the City Hall. The tower has late gothic style and it's decorated with more than 130 stone statues. This is the building, where the well-known 'Platz-Jabbec' is located (it's a mystic face, which opens its month and shows its tongue every time the currants start ringing). In 1569 William Fernukker added a Renaissance outhouse to the front. This City Hall bower was saved during the Second World War; unfortunately we can't say the same about the building of the City Hall, which was destroyed by fire. The reconstruction of the building became the symbol of the revival of life. In 1950 Cologne craftsmen created the 'workshop of builders and stone dressers for the City Hall reconstruction'.
This article about Cologne is written by the orangesmile.com editorial team and is protected by the copyright law. The article can only be re-used with a direct link to www.orangesmile.com